Low Turnout Witnesses In Osun LG Election

Osun State Local Government Election witnessed a low turnout on Saturday, the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports.

NAN Reporter monitored the election in Osogbo, Ayedade, Irewole and Ile-Ife Local Government Areas.

They revealt that ad-hoc staff of the State Independent Electoral Commission (INEC) arrived at polling units on time but with just a few voters turnout.

Unit 1, At St. Peter Primary School, Otun Balogun Ward, Gbongan in Ikire Local Government, the turnout of electorate was very low.

Olasiyan Sikiru, Speaking with NAN, All Progressive Congress (APC) party agent, decried the unimpressive turnout of the electorate.

Mr. Sikiru said out of 600 registered voters at the ward, only 40 came out to vote as about 10 a.m.

“We are still expecting people will still come out but aside the low turnout witness, the election is going on smoothly.”

The Accord Party agent at Unit 2, Oladele Adelowo, Otun Balogun ward, said the low turnout of the electorate was because the election is be hold on the market day.

Mr. Adelowo, however, commended the OSIEC staff for arriving at the polling unit on time.

The ward returning officer, Adeshina Olatokunbo, said the election was peaceful without any challenges at the polling unit.

Mr. Olatokunbo said it was expected that more electorate would still come out to vote.

NAN also observed that the turnout was also low, at Unit 2, Eketa Ward in Osogbo Local Government,

The accreditation of voters and voting, however, went on smoothly.

Low turnout of voters was also witnessed in Ile-Ife.

At Iremo Unit 13, Ward 3 in Ile-Ife, the turnout of the voters was low with late arrival of voting materials.

Damilola Omiyefa, APC party agents decried non-availability of voting materials as at 10a.m. and low voters turnout.

NAN reports that the election, which was conducted in the parliamentary pattern, is for ward councillors only who will in turn choose their council chairmen among themselves.

This pattern of the election runs contrary to the existing presidential system whereby both the councillors and chairmen are voted directly by the electorate.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *